Author Topic: neuro symptoms  (Read 3818 times)

Peg41

neuro symptoms
« on: June 27, 2009, 03:34:32 PM »
Hi,  I'm new to Sjogren's World.  I have a bunch of neuro problems and wonder if anyone else has anything like it.  The left side of my face is numb.  The muscles in my lower jaw are so weak it is impossible to chew.  My speech is impaired.  My left had is numb and I have trembling in the fingers.  I had a lip biopsy which was positive for SJS. Because I can't chew, I've lost 50 lbs in the last 1&1/2 years.  I now have a stomach tube and use Ensure.   It took 4 drs. to finally find out what was wrong.  I've had my 5th. IV treatment with cytoxan and solumedrol and have one to go next month.  So far no big changes but some minor ones.  Has anyone been on this treatment?  Do you know how long it takes to get results?
Thanks,

Peg41

wordnerd

Re: neuro symptoms
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 03:52:16 PM »
Hi Peg,

I'm so sorry you are having so much trouble with your symptoms.  My left side of my face is also pretty numb.  I still have some sensation but not a lot.  I've also have tremors, involuntary muscle movements, vertigo, and occasional seizures.  It seems like I'm hearing of more and more people who have neuro problems like this with Sjogren's.  I just started Rituxan for my issues.  I've only had one infusion so far and will be having the next on Wednesday.

Btw... when I was loosing lots of weight from my autoimmune pancreatitis I found that I liked Boost a lot better than Ensure with regards to taste.  (I had a NJ tube at the time and they are not fun either.  *hugs*)

I'm sure there are others here who can answer you questions about your medication better than I can.  I really hope you get some relief soon!

-Lauren

rnathans

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2009, 01:01:54 PM »