Author Topic: newbie  (Read 1620 times)

Lewisanne

« on: September 16, 2012, 04:43:54 PM »
Hi!
I was diagnosed with Sjogrens just this past week, after many years of various complaints to numerous doctors. My symptoms have manifested as severe polyneuropathy along with some less worrisome problems. My quality of life has changed dramatically over the last two years and I am just beginning to grapple with the changes in my life. My question right now is the prescription my neurologist gave me Friday for "methotrexate". The side effects listed are downright scary and I am interested in knowing if others are taking this drug and has it shown to be helpful. I want to get better, but wow......

Joe S.

• Fibro, Sjs, RA, CNS, Diabetes, TIA's, ADHD, ptsd
    • Chakra Force
Re: newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2012, 05:33:41 PM »
Try it. If you experience a side effect, consider stopping it.

While I am glad that you found us, I do not like it that anyone else should have to deal with this health challenge. I am more frustrated when I see younger people with this illness understanding that there is so little that is being done to help us. I believe that the medical model for Auto Immune disease is wrong. I use alternative therapy because of bad reactions to Plaq and MTX.

Sjogren’s – Dry eyes, dry sinuses, dry mouth, dry skin, and dry bum.

You may or may not be faced with other health challenges related to this disease that the doctors do not tell you about. Auto Immune (AI) diseases love to bring their friends. If you have one, eventually you will have more than one.

I like also suggest that people with AI diseases read “Spoon Theory” on the web. It helps to explain how our lives have changed and helps us understand how we can manage the changes to our lives.
http://butyoudontlooksick.com/navigation/BYDLS-TheSpoonTheory.pdf