Author Topic: Dark Skin Patches?  (Read 2123 times)

aguillory

Dark Skin Patches?
« on: March 11, 2012, 09:12:09 AM »
Hi I am new to Sjogren's world as well as Sjogren's.  I'm a 46 yo male.  I have had lots of organ (GI & bladder), muscle, and dry eye/mouth issues.  I have my first Rheumatologist appointment in late April.  Any advice you can give me on that would be welcome.  I have tested positive for SSA, SSB, and RF (but negative for RA).  I am also low in vitamin D so I have started taking supplements.

In any case, I'm wondering if anyone has experienced darker skin patches on their face and if they are related to Sjogren's? I have  dark patches that are growing into the shape of the lupus butterfly rash, except it is not a rash it is just darker skin. The texture is the same as the rest of my face. Thoughts?

Thanks, Anthony

A66eyroad

• Be kind to yourself today!
Re: Dark Skin Patches?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 08:55:27 AM »
Welcome to this wonderful group of people! I'm glad you found us, but sorry you had to look. The good news is that you've got a diagnosis and can now get treatment. That's a really good thing!

One of my favorite features in this forum is the search box in the upper right-hand corner. You can plug in any kind of term and get a wealth of information! Of course, you're always welcome to ask anything. No question is too big or too small! 

It won't be long before you'll see a question someone else has posted and you'll be able to reach out and help someone yourself. That's another great thing about this forum -- always someone to help you, and always someone you can help. Since we're from all over the globe, there's almost always someone logged in.

There's lots of good info on the web. You might want to start here:  http://www.sjogrens.org/