Author Topic: Quitting Smoking (OT)  (Read 55023 times)

mim

Quitting Smoking (OT)
« on: January 17, 2007, 02:22:08 PM »
Hey there,

I am giving up smoking as from Sunday 21st Jan.  Have spoken to the quit clinic and got advice and have the patches so now am just waiting for my BIG DAY.  I have been smoking since I was 14 years old (am now 43) at least 20 a day.

The reason for this post is to ask permission from moderators, hosts and site users to start a sort of 'diary of quitting' thread.  This may be heck or heaven, I do not know yet, but would love to have the opportunity of getting support and advice.  I may make daily posts, if bad or particularly good days, or just weekly posts, I am unsure as to how I will cope.

All are welcome to post their experiences of quitting or trying to quit.

If anyone objects I will not take it personally as this site is really for sjs and associated problems, so please if you would rather I did not run the diary please post on this page and I will check it between now and Sunday.

Many thanks

Mim

Rach

Re: Quitting Smoking (OT)
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2007, 03:52:11 PM »
You go girl!

This is a wonderful idea...it's all about health issues and how to deal/manage. Who knows, this thread might encourage others... to quit! (I'm not naming names)   ::)

Wonderful plan! You've got my support Mim.

Rachael

Pooh

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2007, 05:46:04 PM »
Mim,
GO FOR IT GAL, YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!  I'm behind you 100%.  It has to be a great healthy decision to stop.  You can only benefit from it.   :D

Hugs and God Bless,
Pooh

Scottietottie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2007, 05:58:16 PM »
Go for it Mim!  :) YOU CAN DO IT!!!!

I smoked for 25 years and quit 'cold turkey' and its the hardest thing i've ever done in my life. The point being - I did it - and if I can - you can.