Author Topic: You and Me both Wen  (Read 5985 times)

beverley

You and Me both Wen
« on: February 03, 2010, 11:37:51 AM »
Dear all,

16 months since my last major flare and the way I feel has been described so eloquently by Wen UK in her topic that I would be wasting your time to repeat it all.

My problem is guilt.  I wasn't too good at the weekend and my husband wanted me to ring in sick on Monday morning (I am a primary school teacher for Y5/6 (K7 I think in the States) and am Special Educational Needs co-ordinator and literacy co-ordinator as well), but I didn't want to let myself give in, so went and guess what .... the Headteacher came in and said he had had the call that morning that Ofsted (School Inspectors) were coming in on Wednesday (today) and Thursday of this week.  We have a fantastic little school with a dedicated staff, but last summer my Y6 children (who were very bright and expected to do well) did not get good results in the SATs, so Ofsted were coming in with the idea that the school had problems.  Well I'm tempted to say they do have a problem ... my name is Beverley ....Anyway I definitely could not go ill then and so I panicked to get things ready for the inspectors and last night I had a major melt down.  My boss came into my classroom and found me sobbing into the arms of my friend (she is the site supervisor) and he said 'Why didn't you tell me you were having a flare?' and I said 'because before I could say anything you told me Ofsted were coming and I couldn't let you down.'  Well the long and short of it was he sent me home and said he didn't want to see me for a couple of weeks at least.  He knows I can go back too soon and then I have to go off again and the school has to fit the bill because the insurance for supply teachers doesn't kick in until the third day I'm away.  I've left all my colleagues (friends) to face the inspection alone, and I wouldn't blame them if they hated me.