Author Topic: Travel health risks with Sjogren's Syndrome?  (Read 1968 times)

jeffro510

Travel health risks with Sjogren's Syndrome?
« on: August 04, 2008, 05:51:34 AM »
Hey all,
I am new here, and I am new to this syndrome as well.  I live in Birmingham, AL.  I am 38 years old and up to a year ago was very active with no issues.  I have been having issues with fatigue and various other things like joint pain, sinus problems, etc. so I got blood work done and it came back as Sjogren's.

I just found out 2 weeks ago Wednesday that I have it.  Last  Saturday (3 days after finding out about this) I left to travel to Belgrade, Serbia for work.  It was an 8 day trip and I just got back last night.  Out of those 8 days I spent 5 of them sick.  First I got a nasty sinus infection with fever and sore throat that started on Wednesday.  I had some antibiotics with me and that along with decongestants the sinus infection got better and the fever and sore throat stopped by Friday.  Saturday morning I came down with some type of stomach virus and had to travel 18 hours back to the states with stomach cramps and all that I have had to eat since Saturday morning is a few rolls and a bowl of Jello.  Needless to say, this trip has taken A LOT out of me.  Both physically and mentally.

My question is:  Does having Sjogren's put me more at risk for these types of sicknesses?  Health care over there is not an option for me, so is there anything that I can do to better protect myself?  Any drugs to take?  I am supposed to travel back next Saturday again for another week, and after this past weeks experience I am thinking of telling my company that I can not go.  I do not know enough about this yet to say either way since I haven't even had time to research it yet.  I need any help and advice that you all can give me as I am confused and need to make a decision about the up coming trip in the next few days.

Thanks in advance...

Jeffro

Pooh