Author Topic: Update on Polymyalgia Rheumatica  (Read 174 times)

Carolina

• —if it ain't one thing, it's another." Roseanne R.
Update on Polymyalgia Rheumatica
« on: July 22, 2020, 04:18:34 AM »
Dearest Sjogren's Angels,

After 5 years of increasing pain, I was diagnosed with Polymyalgia Rheumatica.

I began treatment in late January of this year, started with 16 mg of Medrol, daily.  And the pain was gone!  Which verified the diagnosis.

The plan was to taper slowly, and if I was one of the lucky ones, the PR would be gone at the end of the taper.

Unfortunately the PR pain returns as soon as I go below 10 mg Medrol/day.  I'm working closely with my Rheumatologist in the process.

So I go back to 10 mg, and start the taper over again.  I've been doing this now for 6 months, and the Medrol is taking a toll on my body and my temperament.

My skin is breaking down with increasing huge red spots (Actinic Purpura) and the skin on my arms and legs is very thin and tears easily.  I am struggling to keep from gaining weight, but I cannot lose the 10-20 pounds more than I have been aiming for.  I did lose over 30 pounds before I started the Medrol, so just maintaining is a big plus!

In addition, l I am irritable and short tempered.  I easily become outraged by the stupidity, laziness, and failures of those around me.  I do my best to control expression of my anger, and I KNOW that there's no point in getting stressed over things I can't control. 

This irritability and anger aren't really part of my usual personality.  So I really think the Medrol is the cause.

I would like to completely taper the Medrol, endure the pain for a while, and then try the taper again.  My body needs a rest.  But the pain is pretty intense.  It wakes me up at 3 am, and I can't go back to sleep.  This has happened again today.

I'm at 8.5/mg Medrol a day now, and clearly I will have to either endure the pain and continue to taper the Medrol, or go back up.