Author Topic: bile acid malabsorption....a new diagnosis  (Read 365 times)

irish

• Global Moderator
bile acid malabsorption....a new diagnosis
« on: February 15, 2019, 09:01:01 PM »
If we live long enough we can get just about anything when we have autoimmune disease. I have been battling strange stools and colon eruptions for about 3 years and it has sort of ruled my life some days. GI doc thought at first it was pancreatic enzyme deficiency problems even though my blood work was borderline. I took some pancreatic enzyme meds after eating and it sort of helped.

The past couople of months have been off and on issues......mostly on. Saw my GI doc last week and she started me on Questran which is a powder used to help lower cholesterol. However, it also helps my situation. Apparantly I have BAM or bile acid malabsorption. If you do a search with BAM or bile acid absorption you should find information. According to articles it is found often in people with irritable colon and other autoimmune diseases.

From what I could see this condition generally lasts the rest of  persons life but can be amed down by avoiding fatty foods and taking the Questran. I would not be surprised if a couple people on this forum would find that they have this also. So many of us have had colon issues over the years that seem to plague us. Good luck. Irish

Joe S.

• Fibro, Sjs, RA, CNS, Diabetes, TIA's, ADHD, ptsd
    • Chakra Force
Re: bile acid malabsorption....a new diagnosis
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 09:13:31 PM »
All I can say is (((Hugs))).
bkn C4 & C5, herniation's 7 n, 5 t, 4 l, Nerve Damage
Lisinopril, Amlodipine, Pantoprazole, Metformin, Furosemide, Glimepiride,
Centrum Silver, Cinnamon, Magnesium, Flaxseed, Inositol, D3, ALA, ALC, Aleve, cistanche
Reiki, reflexology, meditation, electro-herbalism

irish

• Global Moderator
Re: bile acid malabsorption....my new problem ???autoimmune
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2019, 11:57:05 PM »