Author Topic: Facial Pain  (Read 961 times)

SoCalGord

Facial Pain
« on: February 02, 2019, 10:53:21 AM »
I haven't been formally diagnosed with Sjogren's yet, but I do have subacute cutaneous lupus,  am SS-A 52/60 positive, and have had swollen salivary glands for the last 4 months.  My submandibular glands are much more swollen than my parotid glands.  My eyes are dry and while I still produce saliva, my throat and esophagus are also dry.
All this week I have been experiencing a new symptom - a very painful right side of my face - from my eye down to the submandibular gland, involving both the upper and lower jaw, with the epicenter in front of the ear right above the parotid gland.  No pain whatsoever on the left side of my face.  The pain is very intense, and it feels like I have a mouthful of abscessed teeth.  I do have one cavity that I am in the process of getting fixed, but even my good teeth are painful.  I have not been able to get any relief from ibuprofen or acetaminophen.  The pain seems to be associated with an increase in the swelling of my salivary glands - the swelling is fortunately down today, and the pain has markedly abated (thank goodness!!). 
I will certainly talk with my doc about this, but am curious if anyone has had anything like this.  It seems to be neuronal in nature given its very specific regional presentation?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

irish

• Global Moderator
Re: Facial Pain
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2019, 06:54:19 PM »