Author Topic: Scared, need encouragement  (Read 942 times)

Deseree

Scared, need encouragement
« on: September 05, 2018, 08:34:18 PM »
So I just got my most recent blood tests back and they all came back negative. Normally I would consider this great news, but my symptoms have not subsided and I know something has to be causing all of this discomfort I've been experiencing. I am a 30 year old graduate student and seemingly overnight about 3 weeks ago I developed dry mouth and dry sinuses, dry nose, and dry throat. A very mild increase in dry eyes as well, but so far nothing too distressing. I still produce some saliva, but based on my own "at home tests", it appears to be diminished by about 50% of normal, or about 0.14 mL/min unstimulated. (I work in a chemistry lab, so I have access to equipment which I used to measure my flow rate.)

I have asked my doctor to order the "Early Sjogren's Test" that includes novel autoantibodies SP-1, CA-6, and PSP. I have read the scientific literature on this and found that it is fairly good at picking up early Sjogren's. Does anyone have any experience with this test? What were your results?

I am really scared at the possibility of facing a lifelong disorder, and was hoping to get some words of encouragement from the community here. I know everyone's experience is different, but certainly there must be a "typical progression". Does Sjogren's tend to completely destroy all salivary function eventually, or is this pretty rare? Does the exocrine gland destruction stop after a certain point, leaving some function behind?