Author Topic: Can't figure out if this is Sjogren's or something else...  (Read 191 times)

Hi everyone!
I'm new to these forums and possibly have Sjogren's. I'm having trouble getting doctors to listen to me or even test for things. I thought I'd give you my story in short to introduce myself and ask for input from the veterans around here.

I'm a 27 year old student, quite healthy but with a history of sever reflux from a hiatus hernia. I have had three episodes of severe dryness (eyes, mouth, nose, airway etc.) in my life. The first time, it started immediately when I had just begun taking a new medication for acid reflux called Protonix. This was about 2-2,5 years ago Within a day, I had terrible dryness which I had never experienced before in my life. I switched to another reflux medication, and the dryness went away completely within a day or so. About a year later, I had just switched BRANDS of my reflux medication, and suddenly experienced the quick onset of extreme dryness symptoms. I tried switching medications again, but it wouldn't go away. This time, the dryness was accompanied by sores in the mouth and throat as well. Weeks passed, I tried different reflux medications, but the dryness wouldn't leave. Suddenly one evening I had enough and ended up in the ER.

The doctor there thought I was having an allergic reaction to reflux medication and he gave me a one-time large dose of cortisone as when treating anaphylaxis. Within 12 hours the dryness was completely gone, and I was able to stay on yet another new type of reflux medication. I really had NO dryness symptoms left and would often even find I had excessive saliva when eating.