Author Topic: dry eye meds  (Read 672 times)

srqkimc

dry eye meds
« on: February 22, 2017, 02:16:07 PM »
I don't know if this is allowed but my father suffered from sjogrens and recently passed away. There are 20 vials of xiidra here, which I know is extremely expensive, along with 15 vials of restasis and 28 vials of refresh celluvisc. These meds are all in date and I feel horrible thinking about tossing them when I'm sure there is someone out there who struggles with paying for meds and could use them.

irish

• Global Moderator
Re: dry eye meds
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 06:58:05 PM »
I am an old nurse and know that there are loads of rules and regs. I think I would stop in and talk with the social services/public health in your area to see if they know of some place that could use them. I know of times when some drugs like this have been sent to missionaries. It is a terrible waste that is for sure and it would be best if we didn't throw all these drugs and waste the money and pollute the environment. Good luck. Irish

Linda196

• Administrator
Re: dry eye meds
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2017, 03:26:14 AM »
I agree with Irish. It's commendable that you want these medications to do some good rather than be wasted, but local laws vary, and in many places, exchanges of prescription medications between individuals is prohibited.

I'm sure you will find a legal way to contribute the items, either through a local clinic, charitable association, or even the providing pharmacy or drug company.