Author Topic: Research Project Help Please  (Read 2863 times)

BrendaS

Research Project Help Please
« on: April 28, 2014, 10:01:59 AM »
Hello Everyone,
I received permission from moderators to post about a school project I am involved in that pertains to Sjogrens Syndrome. I posted previously but perhaps was not explaining correctly what my purpose is.

I am a student at University of Buffalo and was hired by the University Research Foundation to help on an assignment. There is a team of people in the dental school using a natural product made of Hyaluronic Acid (natural substance in our body and in many products currently) for treating dry mouth in patients and especially for treating dryness from head and neck cancer. The same research that was used here was originally a National Science Foundation project on creating a hyaluronic acid eye drop that is already on the market. It become apparent that this could possibly be applied to create a dry mouth product for retail sale OTC. One of the areas of interest was patients with Sjogrens Syndrome and some clinical trials were done for this area. A small local company would like to help bring this to market. FDA approval would be the next step to approve commercial packaging. The product could be sold as is but in order to label it for dry mouth relief it needs an FDA approval for that purpose. Here is where I come in...