Author Topic: upcoming MRI...a very LONG one, how to work around DRY  (Read 1066 times)

litliwlowa

upcoming MRI...a very LONG one, how to work around DRY
« on: October 24, 2013, 10:31:57 AM »
Well, my new neuro, who is WONDERFUL by the way, has ordered MRI of brain and cervical spine with and without contrast. Scheduled for next week. (the one after I lost my prior one in May I have let go. Not a good mix for me.)

Usually I can handle and workaround the dry everywhere stuff up to thirty minutes in an MRI. This one is going to be 90 minutes.

He's checking status on brain lesions, as in the Aug soft tissue MRI before my last surgery, part of my brain was captured (up to ears anyway, and he saw lesion at that level. Plus with the prior history of POSSIBLE MS, he doesn't want to assume those are scarring lesions from my TBI. Which is great actually on his part, as I had been requesting since 2003 that those lesions needed to be checked for stability when I again became symptomatic.

On the c-spine, first time ever with contrast. But at least we'll kow for certain if there is spinal cord compromise at c5-c6 and c7-t1.

How on earth does anyone work around not drying out that long in an MRI???

I asked if they could split the two MRI's into two sessions, and answer is NOPE

So ANY suggestions would be most appreciated.

An hour and a half in that thing. Geesh.

Oh, this new neuro to me? Is also an associate professor. Now I really LIKE that part also.

Thanks!!

Amanda
SJS-Primary; Hashi's, Post surgical hypothyroidism, Hypoparathyroidism, Spondylolithesis, L&C Facet Arthropathy, Fibro, gluten intolerance, TBI, Radiculopathies, Neuralgias, Osteoporosis, GERD, Asthma, Allergies. Sphincter Dyssynergia. OSA, Fasciitis, Cervical Spondylosis

Sleepy In Seattle

Re: upcoming MRI...a very LONG one, how to work around DRY
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 10:39:47 AM »