Author Topic: Blind Spots  (Read 665 times)

CerebralWriter

Blind Spots
« on: September 24, 2012, 01:53:10 PM »
Hi, all--newbie here.  A friend recommended this forum when I mentioned I've been dealing with lupus-related retinal swelling, which has resulted in blind spots and distortion in my central and peripheral vision.  She said maybe someone here has experienced the same thing, and I sure could use a bit of moral support.

I've been on Plaquenil for three years, which none of the docs I've seen think is responsible.  I noticed the first blind spot about a month and a half ago, at which time I was diagnosed with a cotton wool spot in my left eye, caused by retinal/macular edema.  That spot since grew two "branches," one leading into my central vision and the other into my peripheral.  Then I started noticing distortion and shadows in my peripheral vision in both eyes, but another visit to the eye doc showed nothing new (he acted like the problem with my peripheral vision was all in my head).  I was put on 25 mg of prednisone for the retinal swelling, tapering 5 mg every four days, and the "branches" began to diffuse, but the original spot has remained, as have the visual changes in my peripheral vision.  A few days ago, I noticed what appears to be a new blind spot in my left eye.

The visual changes have made it hard for me to read blocks of text, as for some reason it all confuses my mind.  My biggest outlet has been the Internet and writing, and it's been driving me nuts that I cannot stand to be at the computer for very long before wanting to punch the screen.  I would love to hear from others who have experienced this problem--or at least have some idea of what I'm dealing with.  Thanks so much for your time.

lolo1979

Re: Blind Spots
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 02:16:03 PM »
Cerebral,