Author Topic: Sjogrens and diabetes  (Read 2146 times)

JudyCoppernob

Sjogrens and diabetes
« on: August 22, 2011, 01:07:47 PM »
Can Sjogren's be associated with or even provoke diabetes?  I'm just beginning to wonder if I might have diabetes or perhaps pre-diabetes and wonder about a possible link.

Thanks!

Scottietottie

• Global Moderator
Re: Sjogrens and diabetes
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2011, 01:27:00 PM »
Hi  :)

Diabetes is also an autoimmune disease - well Type 1 is anyway. Too often people with one AI disease end up with others also. As far as I know Sjogren's does not cause diabetes however. If you are worried about it - do get a test. It's easier to test for than SjS!

Take care - Scottie  :)
http://sjogrensworld.org/   (our home page)
http://www.sjogrensworld.org/chats.htm   (find our chat times here!)

Never do tomorrow what you can put off till the day after tomorrow!

Joe S.

• Fibro, Sjs, RA, CNS, Diabetes, TIA's, ADHD
    • Chakra Force
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2011, 02:40:33 PM »
R lipoic acid has been shown to aid in reversing diabetes. Walnuts have also been shown to help reverse diabetes.
Insulin Resistance is an imbalance between Omega-3 and Omega-6 in your body (too much Omega 6). It can be caused by problems with your liver. You can research this yourself since the key words are here.
bkn C4 & C5, herniation's 7 n, 5 t, 4 l, Nerve Damage
Lisinopril, Amlodipine, Pantoprazole, Metformin, Furosemide, Glimepiride,
Centrum Silver, Cinnamon, Magnesium, Flaxseed, Inositol, Goldenseal, D3, ALA, ALC, Aleve
Reiki, reflexology, meditation, electro-herbalism

Bella

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2011, 03:53:30 PM »
Hi Judy,

I don't know if there is a link between Type 2 and SJS, but, as Scottie says, it's easy enough to test yourself if you're concerned about diabetes or prediabetes.  I've found the website Bloodsugar101 to be an excellent source of information.