Author Topic: "We can't rule out Sjogren's"  (Read 4499 times)

Kendo

"We can't rule out Sjogren's"
« on: May 17, 2010, 06:30:33 AM »
I had my first visit with a rheumatologist last week (after an 11 month wait - non-urgent case in Canada) and the news was mixed. He did a thorough exam and history and read the many pages from my family doc and says "We can't rule out Sjogren's".  He mentioned that since my SS antibodies were negative and my ANA of 1:160 speckled was neither here nor there, that the next step would be a lip biopsy. But I live in a small city and he said the last person he sent for a lip biopsy had the nerve affected and has a paralyzed lip! I'm an amateur flute player who is becoming unemployed soon through layoff and couldn't play the flute at all with a paralyzed lip.

But at least the report to various doctors will say we can't rule out Sjogren's - a big step for me. I started my journey to "diagnosis of mystery disease" almost two years ago with falling, poor vision, mental confusion and then life-threatening low blood calcium levels. So far, I've tested negative for Celiac disease (Mom is celiac) and yet had a "classic response to gluten withdrawal" and am eating gluten-free for 18 months. I've seen two different endocrinologists for the low calcium and might finally be getting treated as an atypical patient with autoimmune hypoparathyroidism. This disease is very rare and I've not found it to be related to Sjogren's at all. I went to our National Patient Conference in March and no one else had heard of it either. It might be a rare complication of celiac disease.

My GI visits have been numerous because I have fat malabsorption and am home today doing my 4th 72hr fecal fat collection. This is the most disgusting at-home test ever. But maybe I have pancreatic insufficiency - another notch on the belt for Sjogren's. I have a dry cough asthma and extremely dry skin and eyes and mouth becoming more dry each month.