Author Topic: info on smart plugs  (Read 4172 times)

jessica1104

info on smart plugs
« on: April 14, 2010, 10:17:01 PM »
Can smart plugs go in the upper tear ducts?  I can't find information on this.  I have them in the lowers and LOVE them and am going to get plugs in my uppers on Friday and wanted to see what others have done.  I had to fight my eye doctor to allow me to use smart plugs because he told me they are really pricey for him!  I paid $500 so those 2 itty bitty plugs should be paid for. :)  I just don't want him telling me it can't be done when it can, sounds like the permanent ones can be a pain with falling out.

eyeamdry

Re: info on smart plugs
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2010, 10:52:48 PM »
Jessica, I am a 10 year veteran of punctal plugs. I've been double plugged, quadra-plugged, unplugged, replugged etc.  Currently, I have two puncta which are scarred shut, one plug and one cauterization.

Years ago, my doctor was trying to get Smart Plugs because I was 9stil am) having lots of trouble.  It happened that he ordered them for me and I really can't remember the circumstances, but the plugs would not fit, would not stay in--but there was a reason I didn't get them.  I don't think docs like to work with these plugs.  I could be wrong.  Any plugs can fall out.  It probably is a big pain for him to order these especially for you.  If he drops one and it can't be used, he is out the cost of the plug.  Wait to see what others say, but remember you would then be all 4 plugged and the top two might need to come out if you experience epiphora (too many tears-although they may not be good tears.)  It might end up that he might have to take the plugs out and you'd still have to pay for them.  Did your insurance pay for any part of the SmartPlugs?  You might take a slower approach to this.  If you LOVE your bottoms being plugged, what makes you think plugging the top things will make things BETTER?