Author Topic: Infrequent urgent diarrhea  (Read 4405 times)

shaz

Infrequent urgent diarrhea
« on: March 16, 2010, 03:36:53 PM »
Hi everyone,

i'm new to Sjogren's world, and am hoping someone can shed some light on one of my symptoms.  i was diagnosed with Sjogren's about 2 years ago, but they reckon I've had it for about 8 years at this stage.  I have most symptoms fairly well under control.  But one thing I keep getting is this crazy urgent diarrhea.  There doesnt seem to be any pattern to it.  I can be completely free of it for weeks/couple of months, and then it returns with a vengence!  I cant link it to a particular food, believe me Ive tried!  It usually happens about an hour after eating, I have to run for the bathroom.  And it burns like heck, feels very acidic.  once its done I feel fine.  I dont get nausea with it.  usually ill experience it for a week or two.

Does anyone have a clue what is going on?

thanks,

Shaz

sleeeepy

Re: Infrequent urgent diarrhea
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 04:26:12 PM »
hello there..could be IBS...Irritable bowel syndrome which I have had for 24 years.  it is also very common with people with sjogrens.  I am not a doctor so maybe you should ask your doc at your next visit.  Taking Probiotic pills have helped me very, very much to control my symptoms of IBS.    Mary

Scottietottie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 08:08:55 PM »
Hi Shaz  :)

Welcome to Sjogren's world.  :)

The first thing that came to my head was IBS too but the sensible thing to do would be to ask a doctor about it. I've always been told that changes in bowel habits should be investigated. Sjoggies often do have GI issues but having SjS doesn't, of course, stop us from getting other things too.

Hope you get answers soon.

Take care - Scottie  :)
http://sjogrensworld.org/   (our home page)
http://www.sjogrensworld.org/chats.htm   (find our chat times here!)

Never do tomorrow what you can put off till the day after tomorrow!