Author Topic: Endometriosis diagnosis & treatment?  (Read 1620 times)

Claire the Red

Endometriosis diagnosis & treatment?
« on: January 22, 2010, 12:41:41 PM »
Hi everyone, happy new year!
I know some of you have / had endometriosis. If you would be willing to share a bit, could you please tell me how you got the diagnosis and whether you pursued any kind of treatment?

My GI doc suggested that endo might be contributing to my abdominal pain. After reading about it, it does seem like a plausible explanation. I told this to my GP, who normally does not take me very seriously, and she told me to start taking my birth control pill continuously to see what effect it has on my symptoms. I have been doing that for a couple of months, and think it has helped a little bit (maybe the placebo effect, who knows) but don't like it very much... sorry if this is too much information - now I get my period every three weeks (!) and have been experiencing a lot of breast tenderness. I am just starting to wonder what the next step is when I go back to have my checkup at the doctor next month. I wonder if I should press to get a laparoscopy, since my GP seems to think I'm a hypochondriac, or whether having one would actually help or just be a lot of unnecessary discomfort. It may be relevant to say I don't have any kids, and honestly do not know what my fertility status is (been on the pill for 10+ years) but my husband and I haven't ruled out the possibility of doing so in the future. Getting pregnant has not been high on my list as I have been pretty sick the past couple of years.

Thanks for any stories you can provide!

Katybarstool

Re: Endometriosis diagnosis & treatment?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 03:31:45 PM »
Hi Claire